Universität Erfurt

Antike Kultur

Polyainos

Polyaenus in Context

A one-day working conference on Polyaenus on Friday, January 16th, 2009

Publication

Polyainos. Neue Studien / Polyaenus. New Studies. Berlin: Verlag Antike 2010. 176 pp. http://verlag-antike.de/va/titel/978-3-938032-39-8/

Aim

The conference aims to bring together established experts on Polyaenus and provide opportunities to discuss this often underrated author. To make expert discussions viable and fruitful, we have not advertised the event widely but rather expect an intensive "working conference" amonst experts. Please leave enough time for discussion. Thank you!

Programme

Polyaenus the Historian

  • 9-10  Maria Pretzler / Swansea: Polyainos and the historical tradition of his times
  • 10-11 Elisabetta Bianco / Torino: The third book of Polyaenus and Ephorus
  • coffee

Polyaenus the Philosopher

  • 11.15-12.15 Ruth Harder / Zuerich: Moralische Standards bei Polyainos
  • 12.15-13.15 Katrin Herrmann / Mannheim: Polyainos ein Stoiker?
  • lunch

Polyaenus the Writer

  • 14-15 Klaus Geus / Berlin: Überlegungen zu Genese und Struktur der "Strategemata" des Polyainos
  • 15-16 James Morton / Oxford: The Strategica and Greek Identity in the Second Sophistic Age
  • coffee

Polyaenus, scriptor militaris et religiosus

  • 16.15-17.15 Everett Wheeler / Duke: Polyaenus - scriptor militaris
  • 17.15-18.15 Veit Rosenberger / Erfurt: Die List und das Göttliche: Religion bei Polyän
  • dinner

Participants

  • Elisabetta Bianco / Torino (15.-18.) elisabetta.bianco(at)unito.it
  • Kai Brodersen / Erfurt (passim) kai.brodersen(at)uni-erfurt.de
  • Klaus Geus / Bamberg & Berlin (15.-16.) klaus.geus(at)web.de
  • Ruth Harder / Zürich (16.-17.) ruth.harder(at)klphs.uzh.ch
  • Katrin Herrmann / Mannheim (15.-17.) katrin.herrmann(at)uni-mannheim.de
  • James Morton / Oxford (15.-17. @ Kai) james.morton(at)sjc.ox.ac.uk
  • Maria Pretzler / Swansea (14.-17. @ Kai) m.pretzler(at)swan.ac.uk
  • Veit Rosenberger / Erfurt (passim) veit.rosenberger(at)uni-erfurt.de
  • Everett Wheeler  / Duke (15.-18.) evwheeler(at)earthlink.net

Venue

Universitaet Erfurt, Nordhaeuser Str. 63, 99089 Erfurt, Germany

Accomodation

Gaestehaus Werner-Seelenbinder-Str. 14, 99096 Erfurt, Germany
attn. Denis Churt, Tel. 0049 361 3883-88, Fax 0361 3883-99.
Your names are known to the lodge, which is manned 24/7.
This Gaestehaus belonged to the former SED party high school and will give you a first-hand historic experience. You can reach it from the main station by tram 3 towards "Urbicher Kreuz" (not Europaplatz) to "Agentur fuer Arbeit" (third stop) and walk to the Gaestehaus. The main station, the tram stop "Agentur fuer Arbeit" and the location of the Gaestehaus are all marked on http://maps.google.de/maps/ms?oe=utf-8&client=firefox-a&ie=UTF8&hl=en&msa=0&msid=107965002673719611239.0004604e2879ea6ea5599&ll=50.961806,11.042547&spn=0.025489,0.027637&z=15
Veit Rosenberger lives there, as well, and will guide you to the university (tram 3 from "Agentur fuer Arbeit" (towards "Europaplatz") up to "Universitaet". We shall meet in the Praesidium. A data projector ("beamer") will be available, and we can produce xeroxes etc.
Note that two participants (Morton and Pretzler) will not stay there but with Kai.
We shall have lunch in the Mensa (refectory) of the University, and we would like to invite to you dinner on the evening of the Friday.
You can get tickets for the tram both at vending machines at the stations and in the first waggon of the tram. It will be easiest to buy a "Tageskarte" (day ticket) valid for the city of Erfurt (only), aka "Zone 10" (yellow).
For those of you already present in Erfurt on Thursday evening I suggest that we meet for dinner at Kai's house at 7 pm.

Expenses

We shall have lunch in the Mensa (refectory) of the University, and we would like to invite to you dinner on the evening of the Friday. We shall reimburse your expenses after the event (there is a form to fill in; please keep all receipts in the original for this).

Contact

If you have any further queries do not hesitate to e-mail kai.brodersen(at)uni-erfurt.de .

Navigation

Werkzeugkiste

Nutzermenü und Sprachwahl