Research Group "Contested Democracy"

[Translate to English:] Bild zeigt Protest und Vororte in den USA

The research group "Contested Democracy. Gender, race and sex in US-American contemporary history" at the Chair of North American History at the University of Erfurt will begin its work on February 1st, 2021. The focus will be on struggles for hegemony and democracy along the lines of gender, race and sex in the United States in the second half of the 20th century and in the beginning of the 21st century. Equal life chances, access to social resources and democratic participation were never taken for granted, but were always based on collective struggles and the personal commitment of individual persons. To show this for US history from the middle of the 20th to the early 21st century will be one of the main achievements of the research group.


Short Abstract

The topic will be dealt with in two subprojects:

 


Subproject A: Women's history as democratization: Gerda Lerner (1920-2013)

Subproject A, edited by Dr. Vera Kallenberg at Bielefeld University, deals with the Jewish and emigrant Gerda Lerner who fled Vienna and was a left-wing activist, feminist writer, public intellectual and American history professor. Lerner's way of working and thinking was characterized by an eye for the connection between different forms of power relations - race, ethnicity, gender, class and global inequality - on the level of academic knowledge production as well as political engagement. SP A analyzes how Lerners' knowledge of her experiences as a left-wing Jewish migrant from Nazi-occupied Europe and as a Jewish woman shaped her professional, political, and artistic career and her self-image as an agent of democratic politics. Her influence on the study of history and feminist knowledge production as a whole is examined as well. The aim of the subproject is to produce the first scholarly monograph based on archival materials and Gerda Lerner's printed work.

 


Subproject B: Identity Politics as a Decisive Political Form: Hegemonic Forces in the Conflict over Democratic Participation in the USA since the 1970s

The dissertation project "Identity Politics as a Decisive Political Form" is conducted by Alexander Obermüller and takes recent political debates on identity politics in the USA as an opportunity to examine the formation of white, male, and gender-conservative heteronormative forces that began in the 1970s. These forces emerged in opposition to identity politics being used as a political instrument by subaltern groups in the struggle for emancipation. TP B asks how "reactionary" forces appropriated the identity politics strategy of democratic reform forces in the 1970s and 1980s. With Mark Lilla (2016), we use the term "reactionary" to describe a form of politics that, with recourse to the past and tradition, shapes the sociopolitical process and the future. Like TP A, TP B will conduct actor-centered research in order to do justice to the interweaving of human thought and action with discursive patterns and social structures.


Associated Subproject: “Let's Make America Great Again”

The associated subproject "'Let's Make America Great Again': A History of Nostalgia as a United States Identity Ideology in the 1980s", edited as a dissertation project by Lisa Patt at the University of Erfurt, deals with nostalgic rhetoric as a discursive strategy during the presidency of Ronald Reagan in the USA.

 

Abstract

Forscher*innengruppe "Contested Democracy"

Bild zeigt Protest und Vororte in den USA

Die von der Gerda Henkel Stiftung geförderte Forscher*innengruppe "Contested Democracy. Gender, race und sex in der US-amerikanischen Zeitgeschichte" am Lehrstuhl für Nordamerikanische Geschichte der Universität Erfurt wird am 01.02.2021 ihre Arbeit aufnehmen. Im Fokus stehen dabei Kämpfe um Hegemonie und Demokratie entlang von gender, race und sex in den USA in der zweiten Hälfte des 20. Jhs. und im beginnenden 21. Jahrhundert. Gleiche Lebenschancen, Zugang zu gesellschaftlichen Ressourcen und demokratische Partizipation waren nie selbstverständlich, sondern beruhten stets auf kollektiven Kämpfen und dem persönlichen Einsatz einzelner Personen. Dies für die US-Geschichte von der Mitte des 20. bis zum frühen 21. Jh. zu zeigen, wird eine der wesentlichen Leistungen der Forschungsgruppe sein.

Kurze Projektbeschreibung

Die Thematik wird über zwei komplementäre Teilprojekte bearbeitet werden:


Teilprojekt A: Women’s history als Demokratisierung: Gerda Lerner (1920-2013)

Teilprojekt A, bearbeitet von Frau Dr. Vera Kallenberg, beschäftigt sich mit der aus Wien geflohenen Jüdin und Emigrantin, linken Aktivistin, feministischen Schriftstellerin, öffentlichen Intellektuellen und amerikanischen Geschichtsprofessorin Gerda Lerner. Lerners Arbeits- und Denkweise zeichnete sich auf der Ebene der akademischen Wissensproduktion wie des politischen Engagements durch einen Blick für den Zusammenhang verschiedener Formen von Machtrelationen aus – race, Ethnizität, Geschlecht, Klasse und globale Ungleichheit. TP A analysiert, wie Lerners Erfahrungswissen als linke jüdische Migrantin aus dem nationalsozialistisch besetzen Europa und als jüdische Frau ihren beruflichen, politischen und künstlerischen Werdegang und ihr Selbstverständnis als Agentin demokratischer Politik prägten. Ihr Einfluss auf die Geschichtswissenschaft sowie die feministische Wissensproduktion insgesamt wird ebenfalls untersucht. Ziel des Teilprojekts ist die erste auf Archivalien sowie Gerda Lerners gedrucktes Werk gestützte wissenschaftliche Monographie.


Teilprojekt B: Identitätspolitik als entscheidende Politikform: Hegemoniale Kräfte im Konflikt um demokratische Partizipation in den USA seit den 1970er Jahren

Das Disserationsprojekt "Identitätspolitik als entscheidende Politikform" nimmt jüngste politische Auseinandersetzungen um Identitätspolitik in den USA zum Anlass, um die in den 1970er Jahren beginnende Formierung weißer, männlicher bzw. geschlechterkonservativer heteronormativer Kräfte zu untersuchen. Diese entstanden in Opposition zu durch subalterne Gruppen im Kampf um Emanzipation als politisches Instrument genutzten Identitätspolitiken. TP B fragt, wie sich „reaktionäre“ Kräfte in den 1970er und 80er Jahren die identitätspolitische Strategie demokratischer Reformkräfte aneigneten. Mit „reaktionär“ bezeichnen wir mit Mark Lilla (2016) eine Politikform, die mit Rekurs auf Vergangenheit und Tradition gestaltend auf den gesellschaftspolitischen Prozess und die Zukunft einwirken will. Wie TP A wird TP B akteurszentriert forschen, um damit der Verwobenheit menschlichen Denkens und Handelns mit diskursiven Mustern und gesellschaftlichen Strukturen gerecht zu werden.


Assoziiertes Teilprojekt: “Let's Make America Great Again”

Das assoziierte Teilprojekt “'Let's Make America Great Again': A History of Nostalgia as a United States Identity Ideology in the 1980s", bearbeitet als Dissertationsprojekt von Lisa Patt an der Universtität Erfurt, beschäftigt sich mit nostalgischer Rhetorik als diskursiver Strategie während der Präsidentschaft Ronald Reagans in den USA.

Kurzbeschreibung