| Interne Serviceseiten

Thuringian Archive Prize for Working Group of University Archives

The Thuringian University Archives Working Group, in which the University of Erfurt also participates, will be awarded the Thuringian Archive Prize on 9 November in the ballroom of the Franz Liszt University of Music Weimar. The "Sparkassen-Kulturstiftung Hessen-Thüringen" and the Thuringian association of the "Verband Deutscher Archivarinnen und Archivare" are honouring his services to the development of the archives of academic teaching institutions in Thuringia. The prize, endowed with 5.000 euros, has been awarded annually since 2011. The prize money has enabled the previous winners to realise long-planned projects.

Based on an initiative by Christine Eichert, head of the archives of the Weimar University of Architecture and Civil Engineering (now Bauhaus University Weimar), the Thuringian University Archives Working Group was founded in 1995 to promote the exchange of expertise and information among archival colleagues at academic teaching institutions. Furthermore, the acceptance of the supporting institutions as well as their visibility vis-à-vis the larger sections of the state and municipal archives was to be strengthened. Initially, real groundwork had to be done to convince the archive institutions of the necessity of having or creating their own archives. And this task still determines the commitment of the working group today. The current ten members meet regularly for working conferences that focus not only on specialist topics, but also on current developments in Thuringia's higher education and science landscape.