Committee of PhD Representatives

Online-Get-Together on 30.06.21

Are you interested in who else is doing a doctorate at the University of Erfurt? Would you like to exchange experiences as a doctoral student? Or do you just want to take a break from everyday life? Our next digital get-together will be held as part of the Graduate Day. This time, students who are interested in doing a PhD will also be there.You are welcome to join us on 30.06.21 at 15:45 at our informal and so far still digital Stammtisch. 

Meeting Link:

password: cgGpXJDq663

See our Welcome Flyer here.


Join our new Newsletter to be informed about events and PhD-news! Click here for the Nesletter. 

See the first issue of our newsletter here

Results of the PhD survey for academic year 2019-2020

We are grateful for everyone who have participated in our PhD survey in June and July 2020! The overall feedback among the doctoral researchers is fairly optimistic. However, the survey result also points to some necessary improvements. An overview of the results can be accessed via this site, when you are logged into the Intranet, or you can write us an E-Mail. Please don’t hesitate to contact us in case you have any question or suggestion: 


Working on your PhD during the Corona pandemic

It is a challenging time for doctoral students. The academic life can be complicated by the closed facilities, canceled research trips and studies, home office, stressful adjustments, lack of exchange, and extra teaching work. All of these can become additional burden given the time pressure from a fix-period contracts and scholarships.

First steps towards normalization have already been taken (e.g., a partial opening of the university library), but many restrictions will likely remain for a long time. If your doctoral schedule has been severely affected by these policies, you can contact your supervisor about extending employment contract or scholarship. Currently, legislators, many funding agencies and universities are adapting their regulations for corresponding solutions.

The Committee of PhD representatives is in close contact with the University Management and the Research and Graduate Service to discuss the current challenges and seek for possible solutions. You can always contact us if you have questions or need support with problems and conflicts:

Tasks and Goals

We articulate and promote the interests of doctoral researchers at the University of Erfurt. We facilitate an interdisciplinary and cross-faculty exchange on matters relevant to doctoral studies and contribute to an interdisciplinary, cooperative and international doctoral culture. In addition, it is our task to make recommendations on all relevant matters in the university administration and political bodies such as the senate (Senat) or the faculty councils (Fakultätsräten Empfehlungen). Last but not least, we would like to support networking and exchange among doctoral researchers at the university.


Contact and Members of the Committee

Members of the Doctoral Student Representation

Dominique-Marcel Kosack (Faculty of Catholic Theology, Chair)

Madeleine Boehm (Faculty of Economics, Law, and Social Sciences, Vice-Chair)

Jana Asberger (Faculty of Education)

Lena Burth (Faculty of Economics, Law, and Social Sciences)

Sisi Sung (Max-Weber-Kolleg)

Holger Futterleib (Faculty of Education)

David Palme (Max-Weber-Kolleg)

Johannes Schillert (Faculty of Catholic Theology)

Terms of Office

Members of the Committee are elected for one year (current term of office 01.10.2020-30.09.2021).



The Committee of the PhD representatives consists of one representative and one deputy from each faculty and the Max-Weber-Kolleg (5+5). The term of office is one year and usually begins on October 1st every year. All enrolled doctoral researchers may elect the Committee and stand for election. Each faculty and the Max-Weber-Kolleg elects its own representatives. Candidate who receives the most votes is elected as the representative. The candidate with the second most votes is elected as deputy.


Helpful Information for Doctoral Students

Information on the financing of doctoral projects

The information (German)we have compiled is intended to help with the financing of doctoral projects and the associated research costs.

Information for doctoral students on the time limit of qualification positions

We have written this summary with Information of time limited qualification positions (German) as information for doctoral students with qualification positions.