Committee of PhD Representatives

Newsletter

Join our new Newsletter to be informed about events and PhD-news! Click here for the Nesletter. 

See the first issue of our newsletter here

Results of the PhD survey for academic year 2019-2020

We are grateful for everyone who have participated in our PhD survey in June and July 2020! The overall feedback among the doctoral researchers is fairly optimistic. However, the survey result also points to some necessary improvements. An overview of the results can be accessed via this site, when you are logged into the Intranet, or you can write us an E-Mail. Please don’t hesitate to contact us in case you have any question or suggestion: promovierendenvertretung@uni-erfurt.de 

 

Working on your PhD during the Corona pandemic

It is a challenging time for doctoral students. The academic life can be complicated by the closed facilities, canceled research trips and studies, home office, stressful adjustments, lack of exchange, and extra teaching work. All of these can become additional burden given the time pressure from a fix-period contracts and scholarships.

First steps towards normalization have already been taken (e.g., a partial opening of the university library), but many restrictions will likely remain for a long time. If your doctoral schedule has been severely affected by these policies, you can contact your supervisor about extending employment contract or scholarship. Currently, legislators, many funding agencies and universities are adapting their regulations for corresponding solutions.

The Committee of PhD representatives is in close contact with the University Management and the Research and Graduate Service to discuss the current challenges and seek for possible solutions. You can always contact us if you have questions or need support with problems and conflicts:  promovierendenvertretung@uni-erfurt.de

Tasks and Goals

We articulate and promote the interests of doctoral researchers at the University of Erfurt. We facilitate an interdisciplinary and cross-faculty exchange on matters relevant to doctoral studies and contribute to an interdisciplinary, cooperative and international doctoral culture. In addition, it is our task to make recommendations on all relevant matters in the university administration and political bodies such as the senate (Senat) or the faculty councils (Fakultätsräten Empfehlungen). Last but not least, we would like to support networking and exchange among doctoral researchers at the university.

 

Contact and Members of the Committee

Members of the Doctoral Student Representation

Dominique-Marcel Kosack (Faculty of Catholic Theology, Chair)

Madeleine Boehm (Faculty of Economics, Law, and Social Sciences, Vice-Chair)

Jana Asberger (Faculty of Education)

Lena Burth (Faculty of Economics, Law, and Social Sciences)

Sisi Sung (Max-Weber-Kolleg)

Holger Futterleib (Faculty of Education)

David Palme (Max-Weber-Kolleg)

Johannes Schillert (Faculty of Catholic Theology)

Terms of Office

Members of the Committee are elected for one year (current term of office 01.10.2020-30.09.2021).

 

Elections

The Committee of the PhD representatives consists of one representative and one deputy from each faculty and the Max-Weber-Kolleg (5+5). The term of office is one year and usually begins on October 1st every year. All enrolled doctoral researchers may elect the Committee and stand for election. Each faculty and the Max-Weber-Kolleg elects its own representatives. Candidate who receives the most votes is elected as the representative. The candidate with the second most votes is elected as deputy.

 

Helpful Information for Doctoral Students

Information on the financing of doctoral projects

The information (German)we have compiled is intended to help with the financing of doctoral projects and the associated research costs.

Information for doctoral students on the time limit of qualification positions

We have written this summary with Information of time limited qualification positions (German) as information for doctoral students with qualification positions.

Promovierendenvertretung der Universität Erfurt

Dies ist ein Foto der aktuellen Promovierendenvertreter

Promovieren in der Coronakrise

Geschlossene Einrichtungen, ausgefallene Forschungsreisen und Studien, Homeoffice, Umstellung von Arbeitsprozessen, fehlender Austausch, Mehraufwand in der Lehre – Promovierende stehen mit ihren Projekten aktuell vor großen Herausforderungen. Diese können gerade durch den Zeitdruck bei befristeten Stellen und Stipendien zu einer besonderen Belastung werden.

Erste Schritte zur Normalisierung sind bereits unternommen (z.B. eine Teilöffnung der Unibibliothek), viele Einschränkungen werden aber noch lange bleiben. Promovierende, deren Zeitplan stark beeinträchtigt ist, können mit ihrem Betreuer/ihrer Betreuerin auch über eine Verlängerung von Arbeitsvertrag oder Stipendium sprechen. Zurzeit passen Gesetzgeber, viele Förderwerke und auch Universitäten ihre Regelungen an, um geeignete Lösungen zu ermöglichen.

Die Promovierendenvertretung steht mit der Universitätsleitung und der Stabsstelle Forschung und Nachwuchsförderung in Austausch über die bestehenden Herausforderungen und mögliche Lösungen. Ihr könnt euch an uns wenden, wenn ihr Fragen habt oder Unterstützung bei Problemen und Konflikten braucht. Meldet euch dazu einfach unter: promovierendenvertretung@uni-erfurt.de

Doktorandenbefragung 2020

**english version below**

Wie zufrieden sind die Doktorand*innen in Erfurt? Was sind eure Probleme, was läuft gut? Wir möchten mehr über Eure Situation wissen. Bitte klick hier für die deutschsprachige Befragung:
https://evasys.uni-erfurt.de/evasys/online.php?p=DS8X2

How are you doing in Erfurt? Do you have problems as doctoral researcher? What is going well? We, would like to know more about your situation. Please click here for english version:
https://evasys.uni-erfurt.de/evasys/online.php?p=64ZAW

Aufgaben

Wir formulieren und vertreten die Interessen der Doktorandenschaft an der Universität Erfurt. Damit ermöglichen wir einen fach- und fakultätsübergreifenden Austausch zu promotionsrelevanten Belangen und leisten einen Beitrag zur Beförderung einer interdisziplinären, kooperativen und internationalen Promotionskultur. Zudem ist es unsere Aufgabe, in hochschulpolitischen Gremien wie dem Senat oder den Fakultätsräten Empfehlungen in allen betreffenden Angelegenheiten abzugeben. Nicht zuletztmöchten wir die DoktorandInnen vernetzen und den Austausch zu befördern.

Kontakt und aktuelle Mitglieder

Jana Asberger (Erziehungswissenschaftliche Fakultät, Vorsitz)

Dominique-Marcel Kosack (Katholisch-Theologische Fakultät, Stellvertretender Vorsitz)

Victoria Fischer (Staatswissenschaftliche Fakultät)

David Palme (Max-Weber-Kolleg)

Kanishka Mirwais (Vertreter Staatswissenschaftliche Fakultät)

Anton Röhr (Vertreter Max-Weber-Kolleg)

Johannes Schillert (Vertreter Katholisch-Theologische Fakultät

Amtszeit

Die Amtszeit der gewählten Mitglieder beträgt ein Jahr (laufende Amtszeit 1.10.2019-30.9.2020).

Wahlen

Die Promovierendenvertretung setzt sich aus je einem Mitglied und einer Stellvertretung pro Fakultät bzw. dem Max-Weber-Kolleg zusammen (5+5). Die Amtszeit beträgt ein Jahr und beginnt i.d.R. am 1. Oktober. Alle angenommenen Promovierenden dürfen die Promovierendenvertretung wählen. Jede Fakultät bzw. das Max-Weber-Kolleg bildet einen eigenen Wahlbereich. Es gilt das Mehrheitswahlrecht. Der oder die Kandidatin mit den meisten Stimmen je Wahlbereich, wird Mitglied der Promovierendenvertretung. Der oder die Kandidatin mit den zweitmeisten Stimmen wird StellvertreterIn.

Die nächsten Wahlen der Promovierendenvertretung finden vom 29.06.20 bis 10.07.20 als Online-Wahl statt. 

Nützliche Informationen für Promovierende

Information zur Finanzierung von Promotionsprojekten

Die von uns zusammengestellten Informationen sollen bei der Finanzierung von Promotionsprojekten und den damit verbundenen Forschungskosten helfen.

Hinweise für Promovierende zur Befristung von Qualifizierungsstellen

Diese Zusammenfassung mit Hinweisen zur Befristung von Qualifikationsstellen haben wir als Information für Promovierende mit Qualifikationsstellen verfasst.