University Council

The University Council makes recommendations on the profile of the university and on the priorities in research and teaching as well as on the further development of the course offerings. In addition, its tasks include statements (e.g. on the basic regulations and their amendments, on the conclusion of target and management agreements, on the principles of funding), the confirmation of the economic plan and significant amendments to it, the resolution and approval of the annual financial statements and the discharge of the Presidium, the acceptance of the annual report of the Presidium, decisions in accordance with §§ 5 and 6 of the Thuringian Higher Education Remuneration Ordinance, and participation in the selection, election and deselection of the President and the Head of Administration.


Voting members of the University Council of the University of Erfurt

external members

  • Professor Andrea Dorothea Bührmann (chairperson) | Director of the Institute for Diversity Research at the University of Göttingen
  • Dr Hanna Proner (deputy chairperson) | Director Universities & Research at ZEIT publishing house Gerd Bucerius, Hamburg
  • Melanie Haack | Head of the ZDF regional studio in Thuringia, Erfurt
  • Professor Bärbel Kopp | Chair of Primary School Education and Didactics at the Friedrich-Alexander University Erlangen-Nuremberg
  • Dr Andreas Stucke| Head of the Evaluation Department and Deputy Secretary General of the German Science Council, Cologne

internal members

representative of the Ministry for Economy, Science and Digital Society

Advisory members

  • the President, Professor Walter Bauer-Wabnegg
  • the Vice President for Academic Affairs, Professor Gerd Mannhaupt
  • the Vice-President for Research and Graduate Services, Professor Benedikt Kranemann
  • the Vice-President for International Affairs, Professor Beate Hampe
  • the Head of Administration, N.N. (interim Head of Administration: Christian Schellhardt)

Entitled to participate with the right to propose motions and speak

  • the Equal Opportunity Officer, Dr Theresia Piszczan
  • the Diversity Officer, Niklas Radenbach
  • the Chairperson of the Staff Council, Margrit Elsner  
  • a representative of the Student Council, Elisabeth Menne

Announcements and reports

university public communications

Notices to the university public can be found in the  internal service area for university members(in German only). Please understand that this area can only be accessed after logging in.

activity reports

report on activities for the period 1 January 2021 to 31 December 2021 (in German only)

report on activities for the period 1 October 2019 to 31 December 2020 (in German only)


Niklas Radenbach
Niklas Radenbach
Geschäftsstelle Universitätsrat
(University Council)
Verwaltungsgebäude / Raum 1.24