Discover the university city of Erfurt

Erfurt – that means culture, joie de vivre and relaxation, whether at the cabaret, concerts or a leisurely stroll between Krämerbrücke and the cathedral. Erfurt – that also means finding job prospects and shaping professional dreams.

Studierende bei der Krämerbrücke Erfurt
In front of the Krämerbrücke

Tradition inspires innovation

Here, young people are offered a wide range of opportunities for planning their lives in line with the motto "tradition inspires innovation". Even Martin Luther appreciated the advantages of the University of Erfurt: Today, around 6,000 young people study here. In addition, the approximately 4,700 students at Erfurt University of Applied Sciences combine theory and practice in their studies.

But those who study hard for life should not forget about leisure time. In the state capital, which with more than 200,000 inhabitants is the largest in Thuringia and one of the most attractive cities in Germany, there is a lot to experience.

Christmas market
Krämerbrücke
Krämerbrücke

Important transport hub

In the Middle Ages, two important trade routes, the Via Regia and the Nürnberger Geleitsstraße, crossed here and helped Erfurt to gain importance and wealth. The city, which was first mentioned in a document in 742, still owes its attractiveness and charisma to the trade in woad, a plant used to dye cloth blue. The charming old town, which has largely retained its medieval structure, enchants both residents and visitors with its charm and atmosphere. Atmospheric alleys and squares with their unique flair invite you to stroll and linger.

On a walk through Erfurt, the ensemble of St. Mary's Cathedral and St. Severus Church are impressive, as are the Petersberg Citadel and the 120-metre-long Krämerbrücke, the only bridge in Europe that is completely covered with houses and inhabited. It is also the backdrop for Thuringia's largest old town festival – the Krämerbrückenfest. Every year in June, jugglers, traders and musicians gather here for a colourful get-together and enchant young and old. In winter, on the other hand, Erfurt's Christmas market, one of the most beautiful and oldest in Germany, gets visitors in the mood for Christmas with Thuringian specialities.

Market on the Cathedral Square
Mouse & Elephant at the Anger
Miniature Erfurt

Shop, feast, stroll

With an attractive mix of small shops, which also offer typical regional specialities and handicrafts, and the large, nationally renowned shopping centres, the state capital has something for every taste. This is especially true of culinary Erfurt, which – in addition to the indispensable Thuringian dumplings and bratwurst – surprises with many other delicacies. The rich variety of restaurants with local specialities and foreign cuisine pampers body and soul. And those who decide to take a stroll in the evening, freshly fortified, can still feel the unique liveliness of the city even at a late hour. That's when Erfurt's pub scene awakens and invites visitors, students and residents to party.

Erfurt has a lot to offer culturally all year round. Erfurt Theatre is one of the most modern venues in Europe and has established itself in recent years with productions that have attracted national attention. With the annual "DomStufen-Festspiele" (Cathedral Steps Festival), for example, Erfurt Theatre stages an open-air experience of a special kind.

The various museums and galleries, cabaret houses, puppet shows and cabaret stages also characterise the cultural landscape of the state capital. The egapark, zoo and the numerous opportunities in the surrounding area are popular for family outings.

Krämerbrückenfest
Erfurt from above
in the café

Erfurt – home of top-level and popular sport

In Erfurt, there are almost no limits to cultural and sporting activities. Various sports facilities offer a wide range of opportunities for competitive and recreational athletes. The Gunda Niemann Stirnemann Hall, for example, invites you to ice skate, but competitions of national and international importance are also held here.

Top athletes from all over the world also appreciate the excellent training conditions at Erfurt's Olympic base – with its ice sports centre, Steigerwald Stadium or Andreasried cycling track. The numerous sports clubs also offer suitable training opportunities for amateur athletes. The many parks are also popular as places for exercise and recreation. Whether surfing on the Erfurt lakes or cycling on the long-distance cycle routes – everyone can be active in Erfurt.

Through Thuringia with the semester ticket

The semester ticket is included in the semester fee. With the ticket, you can travel free of charge on the regional train in Thuringia and on public transport in Erfurt. The semester ticket includes:

  • a local transport ticket for trams and buses in Erfurt,
  • a rail ticket for trains of the Deutsche Bahn in Thuringia, the Erfurter Bahn GmbH and the Süd-Thüringen-Bahn, as well as
  • a VMT ticket.
Erfurt semester ticket

Impressions from Erfurt

City tour with Hannah through Erfurt (German only)

[Translate to English:] Stadtfürhung mit Hannah

Please note: Once you watch the video, data will be transmitted to Youtube/Google. For more information, see Google Privacy.

On the road with Veronique Sophie & Madame Tamtam (German only)

[Translate to English:] Video Erfurt Veronique Tamtam

Please note: Once you watch the video, data will be transmitted to Youtube/Google. For more information, see Google Privacy.

Further information

Pittiplatsch vor der Erfurter Krämerbrücke
Information on the city of Erfurt Things to see and do in Erfurt
Das ist Thüringen
Information on Thuringia Work, live, travel... in Thuringia

Entdecken Sie die Hochschulstadt Erfurt

Erfurt – das heißt Kultur, Lebensfreude und Entspannung, ob im Kabarett, bei Konzerten oder beim gemütlichen Schlendern zwischen Krämerbrücke und Dom. Erfurt – das heißt auch Arbeitsperspektiven finden und berufliche Träume gestalten.

Tradition inspiriert Innovation

Hier werden jungen Menschen vielfältige Möglichkeiten für ihre Lebensplanung geboten und zwar nach dem Motto „Tradition inspiriert Innovation“. Schon Martin Luther wusste die Vorzüge der Erfurter Universität zu schätzen: Heute studieren hier rund 6.000 junge Menschen. Daneben verknüpfen auch die ca. 4.700 Studierenden der Fachhochschule Erfurt im Studium Theorie und Praxis miteinander.

Wer fleißig für das Leben lernt, darf aber auch die Freizeit nicht vergessen. In der Landeshauptstadt, die mit mehr als 200.000 Einwohnern die größte des Freistaats ist und zu den attraktivsten Städten Deutschlands zählt, gibt es einiges zu erleben.

Erfurter Weihnachtsmarkt auf dem Domplatz
Weihnachtsmarkt
Studierende an der Krämderbrücke
Krämerbrücke
Krämerbrücke in Erfurt
Krämerbrücke

Wichtiger Verkehrsknotenpunkt

Im Mittelalter kreuzten sich hier mit der Via Regia und der Nürnberger Geleitsstraße zwei wichtige Handelswege und verhalfen Erfurt zu Bedeutung und Reichtum. Nicht zuletzt dem Handel mit Waid, einer Pflanze mit der Stoffe blau gefärbt wurden, verdankt die im Jahr 742 erstmals urkundlich erwähnte Stadt auch heute noch ihre Attraktivität und Strahlkraft. Die reizvolle Altstadt, die in ihrer mittelalterlichen Struktur weitgehend erhalten ist, verzaubert sowohl Einwohner als auch Besucher mit Charme und Atmosphäre. Stimmungsvolle Gassen und Plätze laden mit ihrem einmaligen Flair zum Schlendern und Verweilen ein.

Bei einem Spaziergang durch Erfurt beeindrucken neben dem Ensemble von Mariendom und Severikirche auch die Zitadelle Petersberg und die 120 Meter lange Krämerbrücke, die einzige vollständig mit Häusern bebaute und bewohnte Brücke Europas. Sie ist zudem die Kulisse für Thüringens größtes Altstadtfest – das Krämerbrückenfest. Hier versammeln sich jedes Jahr im Juni Gaukler, Händler und Musiker zum bunten Stelldichein und verzaubern Jung und Alt. Im Winter hingegen stimmt der Erfurter Weihnachtsmarkt, einer der schönsten und ältesten Deutschlands, die Besucher mit Thüringer Spezialitäten auf das Weihnachtsfest ein.

Markt auf dem Domplatz Erfurt
Markt auf dem Domplatz
Die Zeichentrickfiguren die Maus und der kleine Elefant als Statuen am Anger
Maus & Elefant am Anger
Studierende stehen um das Erfurter Stadtmodell vor dem Rathaus
Miniatur Erfurt

Shoppen, schlemmen, schlendern

Mit einer attraktiven Mischung aus kleinen Läden, die auch regionaltypische Spezialitäten und Kunsthandwerk anbieten, und den großen, überregional bekannten Einkaufszentren hält die Landeshauptstadt für jeden Anspruch etwas bereit. Dies gilt insbesondere auch für das kulinarische Erfurt, das – neben den unverzichtbaren Thüringer Klößen und der Bratwurst – mit vielen weiteren Köstlichkeiten überrascht. Die reiche Vielfalt an Restaurants mit heimischen Spezialitäten und ausländischer Küche verwöhnt Leib und Seele. Und wer sich frisch gestärkt zum abendlichen Bummel entschließt, kann auch zu später Stunde noch die einzigartige Lebendigkeit der Stadt spüren. Denn dann erwacht die Erfurter Kneipenlandschaft und lädt Besucher, Studierende und Einwohner zum Feiern ein.

Kulturell wird in Erfurt das ganze Jahr über viel geboten. Das Theater Erfurt zählt zu den modernsten Spielstätten Europas und konnte sich in den vergangenen Jahren mit Produktionen etablieren, die überregionale Beachtung fanden. Mit den jährlich stattfindenden „DomStufen-Festspielen“ inszeniert das Theater Erfurt beispielsweise ein Open-Air-Erlebnis der besonderen Art.

Die verschiedenen Museen und Galerien, Kabaretthäuser, Puppenspiel- und Kleinkunstbühnen prägen ebenfalls die Kulturlandschaft der Landeshauptstadt. Beliebt für Familienausflüge sind egapark, Zoo und die zahlreichen Möglichkeiten, die sich im Umland bieten.

Krämerbrückenfest in Erfurt
Krämerbrückenfest
Erfurter Dom von oben
Erfurt von oben
Studieren im Erfurter Café
im Café

Erfurt - Heimat des Spitzen- und Breitensports

In Erfurt sind neben kulturellen auch sportlichen Aktivitäten kaum Grenzen gesetzt. Verschiedenste Sportstätten bieten vielfältige Möglichkeiten für Leistungs- und Freizeitsportler. Die Gunda-Niemann-Stirnemann-Halle lädt zum Beispiel zum Schlittschuhlaufen ein, aber auch Wettkämpfe von nationaler und internationaler Bedeutung werden hier ausgetragen.

Spitzensportler aus aller Welt wissen zudem die hervorragenden Trainingsbedingungen am Olympiastützpunkt Erfurt – mit Eissportzentrum, Steigerwaldstadion oder Radrennbahn Andreasried – zu schätzen. In den zahlreichen Sportvereinen finden aber auch Breitensportler passende Trainingsangebote. Beliebt sind darüber hinaus die vielen Parks als Ort für Bewegung und Erholung. Ob surfen auf den Erfurter Seen oder radeln auf den Radfernwegen – in Erfurt kann jeder aktiv sein.

Impressionen aus Erfurt

Mit Jodie Calussi unterwegs in Erfurt

Video Was geht Thüringen

Bitte beachten Sie: Sobald Sie sich das Video ansehen, werden Informationen darüber an Youtube/Google übermittelt. Weitere Informationen dazu finden Sie unter Google Privacy.

Mit Veronique Sophie & Madame Tamtam unterwegs

Video Erfurt Veronique Tamtam

Bitte beachten Sie: Sobald Sie sich das Video ansehen, werden Informationen darüber an Youtube/Google übermittelt. Weitere Informationen dazu finden Sie unter Google Privacy.

Weitere Informationen