Housing in Erfurt

Whether you prefer to live alone or in a community during your studies and whether you want to look for your own flat or just a room for this purpose is, of course, entirely up to you. But even at the university location Erfurt, you are rather spoilt for choice with a student residence and your own flat or shared flat in old and new buildings.

But no matter what you decide, the first step is always to look for a flat. There are a number of things to bear in mind when you are looking for a flat, and also when you move to your new city. On the following pages you will find tips and links on finding accommodation and housing costs in Erfurt, as well as on moving to your study city Erfurt.

A place in a student residence, a room in a shared flat or your own flat?

Student residence

The classic among the student housing options is usually run by the Student Services Organisation (Studierendenwerk). The rooms are often partially furnished, but vary from residence to residence. You can find out from the Studierendenwerk Thüringen whether you have to share a shower, toilet and kitchen with several people.

Housing estates in Erfurt

Shared flat (WG)

A typical student flat-share is a so-called WG, which can range from a purely functional community to a family-like living community. There are all kinds, from the small two-person flat-share to the large community.

Your own flat

The most expensive option is usually your own flat. Another option is a room for subletting.

 

Flat hunting

How do I apply for a place in a student residence?

Application for a place in a student residence

The Student Services Organisation (Studierendenwerk) is responsible for finding a place in a student residence. You can apply for a place even before you have been accepted by the university. The allocation of free places in the student residences is carried out according to the chronological order of the applications received.

  • Start of application for the winter semester: 1 April
  • Start of application for summer semester: 1 October

Online application for a place in a student residence

Where can I find housing offers for a shared flat or my own flat?

The best way to look for rooms in shared flats, as well as other housing offers, is through city magazines, daily newspapers and notices at universities. It is usually also advantageous to place your own advertisements and post notices on notice boards.

 

Online portals for student shared flats (selection)

www.wg-gesucht.de

www.studenten-wohnung.de

Facebook Group Wohnungsbörse

Wohnungsbörse Uni Erfurt

 

Housing Cooperatives & Societies

Overview of the Erfurt housing cooperatives

Starting your studies and still haven't found a place to live?

Offers for bridging

In addition, there is the possibility of staying in the city's hostels and youth hostels as well as holiday flats for a short time, e.g. while looking for accommodation:

DJH Jugendherberge Hochheimer Straße Erfurt (Youth hostel)

Guest house Alte Parteischule am Südpark

Plattform hometogo for holiday flats

bestfewo.de (Germany's holiday flats)

re4 Hostel Erfurt

Opera Hostel Erfurt

Housing costs
Moving to Erfurt

Housing costs

What costs should I expect?

Rent costs

Information on the amount of the monthly rent is usually shown without ancillary costs. The amount of the ancillary costs and what additional costs may be incurred for heating, gas, water, etc. should therefore be checked carefully. In addition, electricity and possibly cable fees must normally be paid. The cable fee does not cover the fee for the broadcasting contribution. An overview of the rent index usually provides a first, helpful orientation.

Rent index of the city of Erfurt

Students in Saxony have the lowest rental expenses with an average of 264 €, the highest expenses in Cologne with an average of 375 € per month. The average expenditure for student housing is therefore €323, in Erfurt €272 per month.

The amount of money spent on rent also depends on the type of housing you choose: whether you live at home with your parents, in a student residence, in a shared flat (WG), sublet or in your own flat (with or without a partner) - the options are many and varied.

more information on student finance

What other costs are incurred?

Re-registration/second residence tax

Anyone moving to a new city to study must register their main or secondary residence with the municipal residents' registration office. As a general rule, the main residence is the most frequently used place of residence. A secondary residence may be subject to a secondary residence tax. In Erfurt, 16% of the annual cold rent is levied.

Register your main residence in Erfurt

Provision

The commission, also called brokerage fee, is a brokerage fee that the broker receives for mediating between the tenant and the landlord. The broker's fee is usually two months' rent plus 19% VAT (2.38 months' rent). The brokerage principle applies: "He who orders, pays". The principle is anchored in the Housing Mediation Act. Landlords therefore predominantly pay the brokerage fee. Direct letting by the landlord, housing associations or mediation via the previous tenant is usually commission-free.

 

Deposit

The deposit is a security payment from the tenant to the landlord and may not exceed three months' rent. The amount, due date, interest and investment are regulated by law (BGB § 551). The security deposit must be invested by the landlord or tenant as a savings book or rental deposit account.

 

Liability insurance

Unmarried students under the age of 25 who are in initial education and are still part of their parents' household are covered by their parents' liability insurance. So anyone who moves into their own flat and changes their main place of residence needs their own liability insurance.

Household insurance

Household insurance is not always necessary, but it does make sense. It pays out for damage caused by water, fire or lightning, for example. In a student flat, however, it is only worthwhile if the furnishings are valuable. Depending on the provider, the bicycle can also be insured under this policy.

 

Broadcasting fee

Every household pays a licence fee of €17.50 per month to finance public broadcasting, i.e. €210 per year.

Broadcasting fee

Tips for students

Tips for the move

Many companies offer students cheap rental cars for the move.

To secure a well-located parking space for cars or vans, this can be reserved at the police station for a fee. It is not unusual, but less official, to reserve a parking space the day before.

Tips for furnishing

It is not always necessary to furnish an entire flat. For example, in many cities it is now common to rent out flats with fitted kitchens.

A good alternative to the usual furniture stores are notice boards in universities, for example in the "Stöberhaus" (second hand) or at flea markets in and around Erfurt.

Puzzlekiste

The University of Erfurt's "Puzzlekiste", a sustainable swap meet for household items, is moving and will open its doors in the basement of teaching building 2, room 3b, in the summer semester of 2020. The offer is aimed at students who come to study in Erfurt from abroad and are in need of household items such as pots, crockery, cutlery, etc.

Those interested can contact the International Office by email and make an appointment: international.puzzlekiste@uni-erfurt.de

This might also interest you...

Wohnheim auf dem Campus der Uni Erfurt
On-campus housing Apply for a place now!
Wohnungbörse in Facebook
Flat exchange Erfurt Group on Facebook
Die Zeichentrickfiguren die Maus und der kleine Elefant als Statuen am Anger
University city of Erfurt Get to know Erfurt!

Wohnen in Erfurt

Ob Sie während Ihrer Studienzeit lieber allein oder in einer Gemeinschaft leben möchten und ob Sie dafür eine eigene Wohnung oder nur ein Zimmer suchen wollen, liegt natürlich allein bei Ihnen. Aber auch am Hochschulstandort Erfurt haben Sie mit Wohnheim und eigener Wohnung oder WG in Alt- und Neubau eher die Qual der Wahl.

Doch egal, wofür Sie sich entscheiden, am Anfang steht immer die Wohnungssuche. Dabei, aber auch beim anschließenden Umzug in die neue Stadt gibt es einiges zu beachten. Auf den folgenden Seiten finden Sie Tipps und Links rund um Wohnungssuche und Wohnkosten in Erfurt sowie zum Umzug in Ihre Studienstadt Erfurt.

Wohnheimplatz, WG-Zimmer oder eigene Wohnung?

Studierendenwohnheim

Der Klassiker unter den studentischen Wohnformen wird meist vom Studierendenwerk betrieben. Die Zimmer sind oft teilmöbliert, unterscheiden sich aber von Wohnheim zu Wohnheim. Ob Sie Dusche, WC und Küche mit mehreren Leuten teilen müssen, finden Sie beim Studierendenwerk Thüringen heraus.

Wohnanlagen in Erfurt

Wohngemeinschaft (WG)

Typisch studentisch ist die sogenannte WG, die von der reinen Zweckgemeinschaft bis zur familienähnlichen Lebensgemeinschaft reichen kann. Dabei gibt es von der kleinen Zweier-WG bis zur großen Gemeinschaft alle Varianten.

Eigene Wohnung

Die in der Regel teuerste Variante ist die eigene Wohnung. Eine weitere Möglichkeit ist ein Zimmer zur Untermiete.

eigene Wohnung
Fahrrad in der Wohnung
Wohnungsgemeinschaft (WG)
Studentenwohnheim

Wohnungssuche

Wie bewerbe ich mich für einen Wohnheimplatz?

Bewerbung auf Wohnplatz

Für einen Platz im Wohnheim ist das Studierendenwerk Thüringen zuständig. Beantragt werden kann ein Platz schon vor der Zusage durch die Hochschule. Die Vergabe der freien Wohnplätze erfolgt nach der zeitlichen Reihenfolge der eingegangenen Bewerbungen.

  • Bewerbungsbeginn Wintersemester: 1. April
  • Bewerbungsbeginn Sommersemester: 1. Oktober

Online-Bewerbung Wohnheimplatz

Wo finde ich Wohnangebote für eine WG oder eigene Wohnung?

WG-Zimmer, aber auch andere Wohnungsangebote, suchen Sie am besten über Stadtmagazine, Tageszeitungen und Aushängen an den Hochschulen. Zudem ist es meist von Vorteil, zusätzlich selbst Anzeigen zu schalten und Aushänge an "Schwarzen Brettern" anzubringen.

Online-Portale für Studenten-WGs (Auswahl)

www.wg-gesucht.de

www.studenten-wohnung.de

www.zwischenmiete.de

Facebook-Gruppe Wohnungsbörse

Wohnungsbörse Uni Erfurt

Wohnungsbaugenossenschaften & -gesellschaften

Übersicht der Erfurter Wohnungsbaugenossenschaften

Das Studium beginnt und noch keine Wohnung gefunden?

Angebote zum Überbrücken

Zusätzlich gibt es die Möglichkeit, für kurze Zeit, z.B. während der Wohnungssuche, in den Hostels und Jugendherbergen der Stadt sowie Ferienwohnungen zu übernachten:

DJH Jugendherberge Hochheimer Straße Erfurt

Gästehaus Alte Parteischule am Südpark

Plattform hometogo für Ferienwohnungen

bestfewo.de (Deutschlands Ferienwohnungen)

re4 Hostel Erfurt

Opera Hostel Erfurt

Wohnkosten
Umzug nach Erfurt

Wohnkosten

Mit welchen Kosten muss ich rechnen?

Kosten für die Miete

Angaben zur Höhe der monatlichen Miete werden in der Regel ohne Nebenkosten ausgewiesen. Die Höhe der Nebenkosten und welche Kosten gegebenenfalls zusätzlich für Heizung, Gas, Wasser etc. anfallen können, sind daher genau zu prüfen. Zudem müssen im Normalfall Strom- und ggf. Kabelgebühren entrichtet werden. Die Kabelgebühr deckt nicht die Gebühr für den Rundfunkbeitrag ab. Eine Übersicht des Mietspiegels gibt meistens eine erste, hilfreiche Orientierung.

Mietspiegel der Stadt Erfurt

Die geringsten Mietausgaben haben die Studierenden in Sachsen mit durchschnittlich 264 €, die höchsten Ausgaben in Köln mit durchschnittlich 375 € im Monat. Die Ausgaben für studentisches Wohnen liegen also im Schnitt bei 323 €, in Erfurt bei 272 € pro Monat.

Die Höhe der Mietausgaben hängt auch von der jeweiligen Wohnform ab: Ob zu Hause bei den Eltern, im Wohnheim, der Wohngemeinschaft (WG), zur Untermiete oder in der eigenen Wohnung (mit oder ohne Partner) - die Möglichkeiten sind vielfältig.

weitere Informationen zur Studienfinanzierung

Welche weitere Kosten entstehen?

Ummeldung/Zweitwohnsitzsteuer

Wer zum Studium in eine neue Stadt zieht, muss beim städtischen Einwohnermeldeamt seinen Haupt- oder Zweitwohnsitz anmelden. Grundsätzlich gilt: Der Hauptwohnsitz ist der am häufigsten genutzte Aufenthaltsort. Für eine Zweitwohnung kann unter Umständen eine Zweitwohnsitzsteuer fällig werden. In Erfurt werden 16% der Jahreskaltmiete erhoben.

Hauptsitz in Erfurt anmelden

Provision

Die Provision, auch Makler-Courtage genannt, ist eine  Vermittlungsgebühr, die der Makler für die Vermittlung zwischen Mieter und Vermieter erhält. Der Lohn des Maklers sind meist zwei Monatsmieten plus 19% Mehrwertsteuer (2,38 Monatsmieten). Für die Vermittlung gilt das Bestellerprinzip: „Wer bestellt, bezahlt“. Der Grundsatz ist im Wohnungsvermittlungsgesetz verankert. Überwiegend zahlen daher Vermieter die Courtage. Die direkte Vermietung durch den Vermieter, Wohnungsgenossenschaften oder die Vermittlung über den Vormieter ist in der Regel provisionsfrei.

Kaution

Die Kaution ist eine Sicherheitsleistung vom Mieter an den Vermieter und darf drei Monatskaltmieten nicht übersteigen. Höhe, Fälligkeit, Verzinsung und Anlage regelt das Gesetz (BGB § 551). Die Kaution muss durch den Vermieter oder Mieter als Sparbuch oder Mietkautionskonto anlegt werden.

Haftpflichtversicherung

Unverheiratete Studierende unter 25 Jahren, die sich in der Erstausbildung befinden und noch zum Haushalt ihrer Eltern zählen, sind in der Haftpflichtversicherung ihrer Eltern mitversichert. Wer also eine eigene Wohnung bezieht und seinen Hauptwohnsitz ändert, benötigt eine eigene Haftpflichtversicherung.

Hausratversicherung

Die Hausratversicherung ist nicht immer notwendig, aber durchaus sinnvoll. Denn sie zahlt zum Beispiel bei Schäden durch Wasser, Feuer oder auch durch Blitzschlag. In einer Studentenwohnung lohnt sie sich allerdings nur bei einer wertvollen Einrichtung. Je nach Anbieter kann über diese Versicherung das Fahrrad mitversichert werden.

Rundfunkbeitrag

Jeder Haushalt zahlt zur Finanzierung des öffentlich-rechtlichen Rundfunks einen Rundfunkbeitrag von 17,50 Euro im Monat, also 210 Euro im Jahr.

Rundfunkbeitrag

Tipps für Studierende

Tipps für den Umzug

Viele Unternehmen bieten für Studierende günstige Mietwagen für den Umzug an.

Um sich einen gut gelegenen Parkplatz für PKW oder Transporter zu sichern, kann dieser bei der Polizei gegen eine Gebühr reserviert werden. Nicht unüblich, aber weniger offiziell, ist das Belegen einer Stellfläche am Vortag.

Tipps zum Einrichten

Nicht immer muss gleich eine ganze Wohnung eingerichtet werden. Denn in vielen Städten ist es inzwischen zum Beispiel üblich, Wohnungen mit Einbauküchen zu vermieten.

Eine gute Alternative zu den üblichen Einrichtungshäusern sind Schwarze Bretter in den Hochschulen, zum Beispiel im Stöberhaus (Second Hand) oder auf Flohmärkten in und um Erfurt.

Puzzlekiste

Die „Puzzlekiste“ der Universität Erfurt, eine nachhaltige Tauschbörse für Haushaltsgegenstände, zieht um und öffnet im Sommersemester 2020 ihre Türen im Keller des Lehrgebäudes 2, Raum 3b. Das Angebot richtet sich an Studierende, die aus dem Ausland zum Studium nach Erfurt kommen und Bedarf an Haushaltsgegenständen wie Töpfe, Geschirr, Besteck usw. haben.

Interessenten können sich im Internationalen Büro per Mail melden und einen Termin vereinbaren: international.puzzlekiste@uni-erfurt.de

Das könnte Sie auch interessieren...

Wohnheim auf dem Campus der Uni Erfurt
Wohnanlagen auf dem Campus Jetzt für Wohnplatz bewerben!
Wohnungbörse in Facebook
Wohnungsbörse Erfurt Gruppe bei Facebook
Die Zeichentrickfiguren die Maus und der kleine Elefant als Statuen am Anger
Hochschulstadt Erfurt Lernen Sie Erfurt kennen!